The Whopper Sacrifice was beautiful

by

whopsac

Burger King started a Facebook app:  Whopper Sacrifice – If you delete 10 friends you get a free whopper. 
Too bad Facebook shut it down
, citing ‘privacy issues’.    Still, the Whopper Sandwich proved to be stronger than 233,906 friendships.

In three days there have been over 200 stories about this on Google news alone.
In a perfect world, I would be BFFs with Crispin, Porter + Bogusky.

7 Responses to “The Whopper Sacrifice was beautiful”

  1. mullygrub Says:

    Although I see where you’re coming from on a surface level, in that the campaign was great for Burger King, I can’t agree with your dismay at facebook shutting the promotion down. Facebook have done some silly things lately, but this isn’t one of them. The Burger King app going viral was damaging to Facebook because it resulted in beaking connections, which is directly contrary to what people normally use facebook for. It was not well thought through in that respect the success of the campaign was dependant on a reduction in facebook’s social footprint, which is afterall what makes them money from advertisers other than burger king.

    I responded ot the article too, but from a different perspective
    http://mullygrub.wordpress.com/2009/01/15/facebook-shuns-burger-king-app-makes-sense-to-me/

  2. megawattpr Says:

    It doesn’t matter that they shut it down. Obviously FB had to.

    But BK got well over 150 media hits, and now they’ll get a bunch more that it has shut down. That was the whole point. Soooo good!!

  3. cardeo Says:

    why would burger king want you to delete friends? also how did they track it?

  4. megawattpr Says:

    Here’s how I track it
    http://news.google.com/news?hl=en&q=whopper%20sacrifice&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=wn

  5. mullygrub Says:

    I agree that it was a success for Burger King, and when you take that perspective I can see your point. I guess I am looking at it from Facebook’s perspective. Thanks for the insight.

  6. BBS Says:

    I didn’t even qualify for the coupon, but tried out the app for the hell of it. Ingenious marketing and I used it as an opportunity for a little culling on my friend list.

  7. smackythefrog Says:

    The BK plot was the best thing I could think of to happen to FB. As an avid hater of the FB, I was glad to see someone taking steps in taking it down, and in the best and most American way: gluttony.

Leave a Reply

