Twelve Years Ago Today

by

In the summer of ’98 I got my first media hit ever when I owned the North Vancouver franchise for The Rubbish Boys (now a Vancouver Junk Franchise). Earlier that summer I tried to get covered by the North Shore News, and later that summer I ran into the Reporter at Starbucks and told him I strapped a couch to my bug. It worked. And I booked several jobs from driving my ‘Junk Bug’ around town.

Another first that summer was our guerrilla marketing stunt. I teamed up with the West Vancouver Franchise Partner and we gathered about fifteen of our friends by Lost Lagoon in Vancouver.  We then walked along the Stanley Park Causeway with sandwich boards made out of 986-JUNK lawn signs all the way over the Lions Gate Bridge.  I called the media during our march. They drove by but didn’t cover the event. However we did get a lot of honkers and supporters, and definitely booked jobs from our captive audience.

This all definitely sparked something in me.

One Response to “Twelve Years Ago Today”

  1. twocooldudes2016. Says:

    Veгʏ good article. I am facing some of these issues аs well..

Leave a Reply

